Please direct inquiries:
To any of the Superintendents below 


Erie County School Superintendents Issue Statement on Coronavirus Preparation

The Superintendents of the public school districts of Erie County have released the following joint statement regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) and its potential impact on students, staff and families: 

“The health, safety and well-being of our students and staff are our top priorities. With the recently elevated discussion regarding the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in the news, we would like to reinforce preventive safety measures we all can take to minimize the spread of illness.

We encourage our students, staff and families to be mindful of key preventive measures. The CDC offers some tips on its website that can be useful in avoiding the spread of COVID-19 and other types of illnesses. 

In addition, please remember that if children are sick, they should not be at school. Students need to be fever-free for 24 hours before returning to class after any illness. Keeping children home when they are sick is critical to prevention. 

Finally, we know that now is a time of the year when there are a large number of optional school trips happening for our students. While we have not made any decisions to cancel any of these trips, we are closely monitoring the situation and taking guidance from the Pennsylvania Department of Health and local emergency management officials. If new recommendations are provided, we will immediately notify our districts' students, staff, and families. 

We appreciate everyone’s understanding and ongoing efforts to prevent the spread of illnesses in our schools and community.”


The Superintendents issuing the above statement are:

  • Mrs. Donna Miller, Girard School District
  • Mr. Richard Emerick, Fort LeBoeuf School District
  • Mr. Kenneth Berlin, Wattsburg School District
  • Dr. Erik Kincade, Fairview School District
  • Mrs. Kelly Hess, Harborcreek School District
  • Mrs. Darcie Moseley, Millcreek School District
  • Mr. John Hansen, Northwestern School District
  • Mrs. Sheri Yetzer, Corry School District
  • Mr. Brian Polito, Erie City School District
  • Mr. Matthew Bennett, Union City School District
  • Mr. Richard Scaletta, General McLane School District
  • Mr. Shane Murray, Iroquois School District
  • Dr. Michele Hartzell, North East School District